Our story

Manor came into existence in 1990 when former single-seater champion John Booth decided that the time had come to hang up his racing gloves. His competitive spirit and passion for motorsport continued to be as strong as ever and so John established his own team.

The Manor story

Following the establishment of Manor, the team attained success almost instantly, achieving race victories in its first season. From there, the stage was set for Manor to become one of the very best teams in national and international motor racing. A dynamic, competitive team, Manor has proved to be a training ground for professional racing drivers, race engineers and race mechanics alike.

Since 1990, Manor has won over 190 races and 19 National or International Championships or Invitation Events.

Over the years Manor has tasted success with some of the best drivers in the world including the likes of three-time Formula One World Champion Lewis Hamilton and 2007 Formula One Champion Kimi Raikkonen. Here are just some of the drivers who have won races for Manor over the years; Antonio Albecette, Jason Plato, Christian Horner, Harry Nuttall, James Matthews, Marc Gene, Geoffrey Horion, Guy Smith, Mario Haberfeld, Marc Hynes, Darren Malkin, Damien Faulkner, Aluizio Coehlo, Doug Bell, Antonio Pizzonia, Rob Austin, Kimi Raikkonen, Danny Watts, Derek Hayes, Richard Antinucci, Mark Taylor, Lewis Hamilton, Patrick Long, Clivio Piccione, Robert Kubica, Paul Di Resta, Lucas Di Grassi, Oliver Jarvis, Patrick Hogan, Cheng Cong Fu, Kohei Hirate, Esteban Guerrieri, Kazuki Nakajima, Franck Mailleux, James Jakes, Kazuya Oshima, Rio Haryanto, Adrian Quaife-Hobbs, Tio Ellinas and Dean Stoneman.

In 1999 a new team arrived at Donnington Park, UK for the first round of the 1999 British Formula 3 Championship. The team was Manor’s F3 team. Although already well established as Championship winners in Formula Renault, this was Manor Motorsport’s first venture into the highly competitive world of Formula 3, competing against established teams and drivers.

Manor’s driver line-up consisted of Marc Hynes and Tor Graves.

Manor won the first round and went on to win four more races with Hynes taking the British F3 Championship Title at the team’s first attempt.

For 2016, the partnership is back in place with Tor Graves nominated as a Manor Driver bringing together a group of like-minded individuals with a competitive spirit and a desire to race. The Manor story continues.

Find out more. Come and join us